The 5 Love Languages Everyone’s Talking About

love languages

When most of us think of languages, we typically think of, for example, learning French, learning Spanish, or anything involving linguistics. But, did you know there are love languages? Basically, love languages are the different ways in which we express and receive love.

It’s unquestionable that your mom is expressing love for you differently than she would her husband, your dad, right? The different ways your mom expresses her love are examples of love languages. Make sense?

So, let’s go over the five love languages: affirmation words, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical affection. Typically, love languages refer to romantic partners, but the love language theory can still be applied to friendships as well. In short, everyone can benefit from knowing these five languages!

What’s All The Craze With Love Languages These Days?

Nowadays, there are all kinds of online quizzes available to help you figure out which love language best describes you. Oprah Winfrey even did a segment on her show about when she discovered her love language! So, what’s the big deal? Why should we find out our love language?

In short, knowing your partner’s love language will guide you on the best way to demonstrate your love so that your partner can appreciate it the most. If we aren’t aware of our partner’s love language, they can misunderstand our typical expressions of love or even feel like we don’t love them at times.

Benefits Of Knowing Your Partner’s Love Language

While we can’t go into the hundreds of benefits associated with knowing love languages right now, here are just a few benefits to keep in mind.

  • Develop more meaningful connections and relationships
  • Better communication
  • Feel closer to your partner
  • Make life easier
Learning the 5 love languages

Start Learning The 5 Love Languages (Plus Examples)

Gary Chapman wrote about love languages in 1995 in his book “The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate.” Nearly 30 years later, the book is still being widely discussed and circulated amongst academic scholars and psychology circles.

It’s time to take a look at the languages in more detail.

Language #1: Words Of Affirmation

Chapman calls words of affirmation a form of verbal communication that is encouraging, endearing, affirmative, active, and appreciative.

Words Of Affirmation Examples

  • “Everything is better when you’re around me.”
  • “That outfit looks so great on you.”
  • “I appreciate you.”
  • “I’m here to support you with whatever you need.”
  • “Thank you for always believing in me.”

Language #2: Quality Time

Quality time can be best described as quality over quantity! This love language entails giving someone your undivided attention, no matter what is happening around you. This means not looking at the TV, using phones, or any other distractions when you’re spending time together.

Quality Time Ideas

  • Reading a book together aloud
  • Going out to dinner without phones
  • Cooking
  • Going for a walk
  • Getting coffee

Language #3: Receiving Gifts

Don’t confuse this love language with expensive gifts and materialism. Chapman suggests receiving gifts is all about your partner’s thoughts of you even though you weren’t around. The gift symbolizes the affection, care, attention, and effort that your partner put in to make you happy.

Gift Examples

  • Buying your partner’s favorite food when you’re at the supermarket
  • Getting their partner tickets to see their favorite musician or artist.
  • Buying your partner something you know they’ve been wanting
  • Having a coffee or meal delivered to your partner while they’re at work
  • Picking up something small for your partner on the way home from work

Language #4: Acts Of Service

Acts of service are when you help your partner out with tasks, even when they don’t ask you to. To sum this language up in a phrase we’ve all heard at least once in our lives, actions speak louder than words!

Acts Of Service Examples

  • Vacuum the entire house
  • Do the dishes
  • Take out the trash
  • Do the laundry
  • Make breakfast in the morning

Language #5: Physical Touch

Physical touch refers to expressing and receiving affection through physical contact, proximity, and other forms of physical contact.

Examples Of Physical Touch

  • Hold hands
  • Sit close to your partner
  • Hug as a greeting and goodbye
  • Small touches periodically throughout the day
  • Give your partner a massage

Now that you know all the different love languages, it’s time you learn about an app that can help you learn some love words and phrases in even more languages!

Learn Languages With Ling App CTA

Want To Learn How To Communicate In A Different Language? We Have An App For You!

While it’s important to understand how other people communicate and your own patterns of communication, that understanding won’t do you much good if, for example, you and your partner can’t speak the same language. We want to help you solve this problem by sharing the perfect language app with you!

The Ling App is a language learning app designed to make learning a new language as easy and fun as possible. In fact, when you’re using the app, it won’t even feel like you’re learning! To make this possible, the app features comprehensive yet brief lessons, applicable vocabulary that can be used in daily life, engaging exercises to help you practice writing, and much more.

Of course, learning to speak is on everyone’s mind when learning a new language. Ling has an amazing feature to help with that as well! The app’s interactive AI chatbot is there to simulate conversations with you in order to help you improve your pronunciation until you’ve reached perfection! After Ling, you’ll never have to worry about your accent ever again!

The Ling app has been praised even further for offering such a diverse course range of over 60 languages. On the app, you can expect to find lessons in all languages, big and small. From Serbian to Italian, Ling aims to offer as many languages as possible to all language lovers worldwide.

Apart from the app, Ling has a language blog filled with content related to specific languages, information about countries, cultures, and even food! If you’re curious to keep learning, Ling’s blog is definitely the best out there!

While you’re learning the five love languages, why not add another language to your list? Go see what we’re talking about by checking out the Ling app for yourself!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.